We love stories about your Optimist Club. Please tell us one and we'll add it to the website.
Click here, email, or post to Facebook. Thank you!

Thursday, August 30, 2007

Optimist in Action Day

October 20 has been declared Optimist in Action Day. Optimist Clubs will come out around the world to do public service in their community. Since this is a one-day event, your club might want to consider some quick, low or no-cost activities that make a difference in a hurry. Some ideas can be found at: http://www.newoptimistclub.com. Just click on Quick and Easy in the navigation bar.

Let us know what you have planned. Send the PNW District an email today.

Monday, August 20, 2007

Optimist District Convention a Success

Optimists gathered for the PNW District Convention in Eugene, OR. This marked the fiftieth anniversary of the Pacific Northwest District with the current boundaries. OPtimist International President Designate Theo Golding was the guest of honor. Highlights included a curling exhibition at the Lane County Fair led by Al Kersey, a fabulous fiesta party hosted by Sue Broadwater and the Roseburg Optimist Club and the Governor's Banquet where Steve Andersen and his team were installed and made ready to assume their duties on October 1. Soon-to-be the Immediate Past Governor, Gay Enyeart encouraged those present to continue leading all districts in Optimist International by adding more members and building new clubs. Peter Smith, Coquitlam Optimist Club was elected governor-elect for the coming year. Adele Heinrich, N. Kitsap County Optimist Club and Rocky Jackson, Jerome Optimist Club were honored with the Roy Proctor Lifetime Achievement Award for their outstanding District Service.

Monday, August 6, 2007

PNW Elections for Governor-elect

Pacific Northwest District Optimist Clubs will be asked to choose their district leadership for 2008-2009 at the District Convention on August 16-18. Three Optimists have announced their candidacy for Governor-elect of the Pacific Northwest District. In alphabetical order, they are Linda Jackson, Jerry Sheetz and Peter Smith.

Popular Posts